Eleven file for open D200, D97 board seats

Challengers outnumber incumbents in races

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

By Michael Romain

Staff Reporter

Eleven candidates filed to run for nine open seats on the school boards of districts 97 and 200, in the upcoming April 2 Consolidated Election, according to Cook County Clerk election records. 

In Oak Park Elementary Schools District 97, Holly Spurlock, the current board president, was the only incumbent to turn in nominating papers for re-election. Board members Jim O'Connor and Rupa Datta announced earlier this year that they did not plan to seek re-election.

The challengers who filed to run for the three open seats on the D97 board include Jung Kim, Cheree Moore, Gavin Kearney and Barika Grant. 

In Oak Park and River Forest High Schools District 200, incumbent board members Fred Arkin and Sara Dixon Spivy both filed to run for re-election. Incumbent Jennifer Cassell announced earlier this year that she did not plan on running for re-election. 

The challengers who filed to run for the three open seats on the D200 board include Ralph Martire, Victor Guarino, Gina Harris and Amanda J. Massie. 

CONTACT: michael@oakpark.com    

Reader Comments

No Comments - Add Your Comment

Note: This page requires you to login with Facebook to comment.

Comment Policy

Facebook Connect

Answer Book 2019

To view the full print edition of the Wednesday Journal 2019 Answer Book, please click here.

Quick Links

Sign-up to get the latest news updates for Oak Park and River Forest.

MultimediaContact us
Submit Letter To The Editor
Place a Classified Ad

Classified Ad

Latest Comments