Community Foundation Honors

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

By Community Editor

The Oak Park-River Forest Community Foundation will honor Excellence in Philanthropy Award winners on Tuesday, February 7 at the Grand Ballroom of the Carleton Hotel. These awards honor those who have demonstrated significant philanthropic impact in our community. The reception begins at 5:30 pm and the program begins at approximately 6:15 pm.

Winning this year are: Kendall and Patricia Hunt – Outstanding Individual Philanthropists; Rush Oak Park Hospital--Outstanding Philanthropic Business; and Sydney Jackson – Outstanding Young Philanthropist. Each award provides a $1000 grant to the recipient's nonprofit of choice. Join us as we recognize and honor the philanthropy that strengthens our community.

The event is free and open to the public but reservations are required. To make a reservation, please contact us at 708-848-1560 or e-mail

This is the eighth year Excellence in Philanthropy awards have been given by the Foundation. For a list of past winners, see:

In addition, one more award will be announced, The Community Foundation President's Award. The winner will be announced at the event on February 7.

Love the Journal?

Become our partner in independent community journalism

Thanks for turning to Wednesday Journal and We love our thousands of digital-only readers. Now though we're asking you to partner up in paying for our reporters and photographers who report this news. It had to happen, right?

On the plus side, we're giving you a simple way, and a better reason, to join in. We're now a non-profit -- Growing Community Media -- so your donation is tax deductible. And signing up for a monthly donation, or making a one-time donation, is fast and easy.

No threats from us. The news will be here. No paywalls or article countdowns. We're counting on an exquisite mix of civic enlightenment and mild shaming. Sort of like public radio.

Claim your bragging rights. Become a digital member.

Donate Now

Reader Comments

No Comments - Add Your Comment

Note: This page requires you to login with Facebook to comment.

Comment Policy

Facebook Connect

Answer Book 2019

To view the full print edition of the Wednesday Journal 2019 Answer Book, please click here.

Quick Links

Sign-up to get the latest news updates for Oak Park and River Forest.

MultimediaContact us
Submit Letter To The Editor
Place a Classified Ad