(Left to right) Susan Buchanan, Gina Harris and Sara Spivey.

Three Oak Park elected officials, all women, were recently chosen to join the 2019 cohort of the McCormick Foundation Executive Fellows program — a two-month executive education series facilitated by the Erikson Institute in Chicago. 

The program, which is part of Erikson’s Early Childhood Leadership Academy, “brings together influential leaders across multiple sectors to participate in a collective and dynamic learning experience that provides a comprehensive understanding of the long-term benefits of investing in early child development.” 

The three local leaders selected include: Susan Buchanan, a newly elected Oak Park trustee and an attending physician and clinical associate professor at UIC Health and Hospital System and School of Public Health; Gina Harris, a newly elected Oak Park and River Forest High School District 200 board member and director of the National Education Association; and Sara Spivy, who is also on the D200 board and is an assistant state’s attorney with the Cook County State’s Attorney Office. 

They were among 24 leaders in this year’s cohort, which includes an Evanston alderwoman, two state representatives and various heads of local and state agencies, among others. Past McCormick Fellows include state Sen. Kimberly Lightford (4th). 

Michael Romain 

Join the discussion on social media!