File photo

The Oak Park Department of Public Health and Board of Health has named 11 local restaurants recipients of the Johnson Award for their commitment to food-service sanitation.

The awards are based on restaurant inspection scores over a two-year period.

  1. Without further ado, the winners:
  2. Chipotle Mexican Grill, 1128 Lake St.
  3. Boss Burrito, 1110 Westgate St.
  4. Sagano Sushi, 731 Lake St.
  5. Lou Malnati’s Pizzeria, 1038 Lake St.
  6. New Pot, 727 Lake St.
  7. Penny’s Noodle Shop, 1130 Chicago Ave.
  8. Buzz Cafe, 905 Lombard Ave.
  9. Na Siam Thai, 6851 North Ave.
  10. Munch, 104 N. Marion St.
  11. Maya del Sol, 144 S. Oak Park Ave.
  12. Sen Sushi, 814 S. Oak Park Ave.

The winners, chosen from 85 restaurants in town, receive a door decal for the honor and a certificate from the Health Department.

The village typically honors 10 restaurants, but this year’s contest had a tie for 10th place, according to a press release.

The 45-point inspection survey score is based on various aspects of food service, including cleanliness, cooking, cooling, reheating and serving.

It is the sixth straight year for Buzz Café to win the award, making the restaurant the longest-running recipient in the 33-year history of the Johnson. Return restaurants from 2018 include Boss Burrito, Chipotle, Lou Malnati’s, Na Siam Thai, New Pot, Penny’s and Sagano Sushi.

The award is named after Oak Park’s first lunchroom cafe, which opened at 124 Lake St. in the 1890s.

Join the discussion on social media!