Gene McCormack of Oak Park, left, and Gabriela Freese of Chicago. Photo courtesy of Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust.

The Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust on Sept. 14 recognized 46 volunteers for outstanding service to the organization.

Among them were two volunteers who received special recognition through nomination from their fellow volunteers. Former Oak Park resident Gabriela Freese of Chicago received the 2012 Wallis Austin Outstanding Volunteer Award. Gene McCormack of Oak Park received the Catherine Award for Volunteer Hospitality. Both awards are given annually.

Years of service pins were awarded to 44 volunteers who have served five to 35 years. The Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust has more than 800 volunteers who serve in many capacities, among which are leading tours, working on the annual Wright Plus housewalk and fundraising.

“We take pride in our volunteers,” said Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust President and CEO Celeste Adams. “We have a group of the most knowledgeable, dedicated and loyal volunteers in Chicagoland.”

The awards were announced at the Oak Park Home and Studio during the annual volunteer appreciation party.

Named for Preservation Trust benefactor Wallis Austin, The Wallis Austin Outstanding Volunteer Award recognizes Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust volunteers who have made significant contributions of time, talent and resources, resulting in the development and growth of the organization.

The Catherine Award for Volunteer Hospitality was created in memory of Catherine McLoughlin, a dedicated Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust volunteer, who filled many roles at the Preservation Trust. The Catherine Award for Volunteer Hospitality recognizes a Preservation Trust volunteer who goes above and beyond to welcome and reach out to others.

Years of service pins were awarded to the following volunteers:

35 years – John Brunn, Patrick Cannon and Marge Goekel, all of Oak Park.
30 years – Karen Borgstadt and Jeanette Fields, both of Oak Park.
25 years – Michael Crist, Schaumburg; Barbara Furlong, Oak Park; and Joan Stockmal-Gordon, Downers Grove.
20 years – Lourdes Nicholls-Kaczkowski of Oak Park.
15 years – Donna Ambrose, Oak Park; Judith Heineman, Chicago; and Vicki Kwarciany of Elburn.
10 years – Barbara Carlson, Oak Park; Mike Dianich, Chicago; Paul Greenberg, River Forest; Bob Hartnett, Rolling Meadows; Laurel Kertgen, Elk Grove Village; and Don Kumler, Oak Park
Five years – Debbie Becker, Oak Park; Kat Braz, Lafayette, Ind.; Adele Cannell, Elmwood Park; Deidre Cannon, Chicago; Brian De Vinck, Oak Park; Vera Dowell, Oak Park; Leila Edwards, Evanston; Andrea Farrell, Oak Park; Paula Fenza, Elmhurst; Judith Frei, Oak Park; Margarete Gross, Elmhurst; Audrey Holden, River Forest; Joseph Johnson, Midlothian; Jean Kengott, Arlington Heights; Laura Knitt, Oak Park; Leo Koonmen, Chicago; Amanda Kowalski, Chicago; Saran Larson, Rolling Meadows; Ruth Perkins, Clarendon Hills; Mike Poirier, Oak Park; Jinny Schenzinger, Oak Park; Erin Schettler, Elmwood Park; Mark Scott, Oak Park; Richard Uebele, Naperville; Todd Walsh, Forest Park; Beverly Weable, Berywn.

Join the discussion on social media!