The Dominican University Department of Athletics announced plans for a Hall of Fame to recognize individuals and teams that have made outstanding contributions to the school as a student-athlete, coach or administrator. 

Beginning this year, and continuing every other year, the Hall of Fame committee will induct a maximum of five honorees.

The inaugural class, to be inducted on Feb. 5, will be comprised of Erick Baumann (men’s soccer player, 1989-1993 and head coach, 1995-present), Marilyn Gerken Benakis (University Registrar,), Bill Brucks (director of athletics/head men’s basketball coach, 1983-1996), Marty Blazek (men’s basketball player, 1983-1987) and Mary (Spielman) Haggerty (women’s basketball player, 1990-1994).

Join the discussion on social media!

Brad Spencer

Brad Spencer has been covering sports in and around Oak Park for more than a decade, which means the young athletes he once covered in high school are now out of college and at home living with their parents...