'Family Guy' writer, gold medalist join OPRF Tradition of Excellence

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

Oak Park and River Forest High School announced its annual Tradition of Excellence winners.

The award honors OPRF alums who have gone on to success in fields such as the arts, law, medicine and business. The 2013 winners include a Hollywood comedy writer and Olympic Gold medalist. Tradition of Excellence winners will be honored with an assembly in November. Their pictures will also be included in the Tradition of Excellence Wall of Fame inside the high school's main entrance.

This year's winners are:

Kevin Biggins, writer for the TV series, Family Guy. He recently sold a pilot to Fox slated to debut this year. Biggins, a 1997 OPRF grad, was also recognized by Comedy Central as one of 2012's top comedians to watch.

Jessica Kerwin Jenkins, a 1987 OPRF grad who has written for Women's Wear Daily and W magazines. She's also the author of Encyclopedia of the Exquisite, which was featured on Barnes and Nobles' "Best of 2010" list.

Javin Peterson, U.S. military pilot for Air Force Two, which carries presidential cabinet members, including the secretaries of State and Defense. Peterson graduated from OPRF in 1995.

The two posthumous Tradition of Excellence winners are:

Charles Hoag, 1952 Olympic Gold medalist in basketball. The 1949 OPRF grad went on to become a football and basketball coach for the University of Kansas.

Mary Alice Rankin, a 1935 graduate who founded the Illinois Coalition Against the Death Penalty. Rankin was also active in the Civil Rights Movement

Reader Comments

No Comments - Add Your Comment

Note: This page requires you to login with Facebook to comment.

Comment Policy

Facebook Connect

Answer Book 2017

To view the full print edition of the Wednesday Journal 2017 Answer Book, please click here.

Quick Links

Sign-up to get the latest news updates for Oak Park and River Forest.

MultimediaContact us
Submit Letter To The Editor
Place a Classified Ad

Classified Ad

Latest Comments