Congrats, and thanks, from the VMA


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

On behalf of the Village Manager Association, the Oak Park First campaign, and our candidates?#34;Sandra Sokol, who was elected to a fourth term as clerk of the village; Diana Carpenter who has completed a four-year term as trustee and ran for election as president of the village; and Ray Barbosa, Dorothy Reid and Mas Takaguchi who ran for trustee?#34;in the April 5 local election, I want to thank our many supporters, campaign workers and contributors.

We deeply appreciate the hard work and energy so many people put into this campaign. We are especially grateful for the efforts put forth by those who were new to village politics and hope they will stay involved.

The winning candidates will now have their opportunity to serve. We wish them well and offer our assistance as they tackle the myriad issues facing our community.

I also want to thank the Oak Park voters. They turned out in significantly higher numbers this year. I hope this is the beginning of a trend that will lead to greater numbers of Oak Parkers voting in local elections. Participation is the key to an involved and empowered citizenry, the backbone of a truly inclusive community.

As president of the Village Manager Association, I want to thank the many villagers who have supported our efforts to ensure good government free of outside influences and partisan politics. It has been our philosophy to seek out and elect the best candidates possible and to leave them alone to govern to the best of their abilities.

This has been a recipe for success for more than 50 years. Oak Park is a nationally recognized diverse, economically vibrant community that offers a high level of services and quality of life to its residents. The VMA is proud of the role it has played over the years in this success. Our commitment is to continue to work to make Oak Park even better.

Gene ArmstrongPresident,
Village Manager Association

Reader Comments

No Comments - Add Your Comment

Note: This page requires you to login with Facebook to comment.

Comment Policy

Facebook Connect