OP named 'Distinctive Destination' by National Trust

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

Oak Park was expected to be named a "Distinctive Destination" this morning by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

The announcement was to be made at an 8 a.m. ceremony at the Gustavus Babson II House, 415 N. Linden Ave., because the Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust nominated the village for the award.

"It could only help" tourism in the village, said Suzy Gerow, marketing coordinator for the Wright Preservation Trust, "and certainly it's appropriate."

A description of winning cities from the National Trust's website reads, "These cities and towns offer striking alternatives to Anyplace, U.S.A. They have preserved their sense of place and character. They are pockets of serenity amid the sprawl, clutter, and homogenization that have degraded so many American vacation spots. They are exciting choices for your next destination."

Past Midwest winners of the annual "Dozen Distinctive Destinations" award include Galena; Chippewa Falls, Wis.; and the Michigan cities of Holland, Petoskey, and Mackinac Island.

Gerow said last week that, based on a sneak peek at the National Trust's press release planned for today, the organization is basing the award on many things in Oak Park, including Hemingway attractions and Pleasant Home.

Frank Lloyd Wright attractions are "kind of a small part of the whole picture," Gerow said.

Oak Park officials and dignitaries were expected to celebrate the announcement and accept the award at this morning's event.
?#34;Drew Carter

Reader Comments

No Comments - Add Your Comment

Note: This page requires you to login with Facebook to comment.

Comment Policy

Facebook Connect