A precursor of bigger things to come?

INSIDE REPORT

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Print

Cook County Sheriff Michael Sheahan made big news with his department's bust of a large-scale fencing operation at 324 N. Central Ave. in Austin on Dec. 2. But police were aware that there was traffic in stolen goods on that block at least seven months earlier. On May 3, Oak Park police arrested one Robert Flowers, 41, of Maywood after he attempted to sell stolen pain medications stolen from an Oak Park Walgreens at a grocery store at "321 N. Central," according to an Oak Park police report. There is, in fact, no grocery store located at that address. But there is the now notorious Central Grocery directly across the street. Which, by the way, had reopened for business as of last week.

Hey, where's Oak Park?

It was a big deal for stargazers last May when Matt Damon and a sizable film crew turned up on Forest Avenue by the Frank Lloyd Wright Heurtley House to film scenes for Ocean's 12, the sequel to the hit remake of Ocean's 11. Damon's character supposedly lives in the Heurtley House in the sequel, which brought out crowds of celebrity seekers hoping to catch a glimpse. In the final cut, there is a scene of Matt Damon being threatened in a car with a subtitle identifying the location as "Chicago, Illinois," which may or may not be sitting in the Heurtley House driveway, but nothing is visible out the windows.

Apparently, Oak Park didn't make the cut.

Correct that

In last week's story "Holiday tradition without that old time religion," resident Sarah Kopp was mis-quoted as saying all that's on TV on Christmas are "parades, Charlie Brown Christmas, and The 10 Commandments."

She said, in fact, that The 10 Commandments is on consitently during Easter, in much the same way that Charlie Brown Christmas is regularly played during Christmas.

We regret the error.

? In re-printing Charlie Meyerson's column "Daddy and the Santa Claus dilemma," we forgot to note that it was first published in WJ on December 22, 1992.

?#34;Bill Dwyer, Ken Trainor,
Drew Carter and Katharine Grayson


 

141 S. Oak Park Ave., Oak Park, Illinois 60302
Phone: 708/524-8300
Fax: 708/524-0447

News
Dan Haley, 708/613-3301, dhaley@wjinc.com

Viewpoints
Kathy Grayson, 708/613-3312, kgrayson@wjinc.com

Daybook
Kristin Gehring, 708/613-3316, kgehring@wjinc.com

Display advertising
Marc Stopeck, 708/613-3330, mstopeck@wjinc.com

Classified advertising 
Brian Stuart, 708/613-3345, bstuart@wjinc.com

Circulation
Kathy Hansen, 708/613-3340, khansen@wjinc.com

Reader Comments

No Comments - Add Your Comment

Comment Policy