Proviso releases Top 50 All-Time Tournament players

Of course, Maggette is on the list

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

By Brad Spencer

Sports Editor

Quite a few familiar names—only two real local in Fenwick grads Neil Bresnahan and Corey Maggette—made the Proviso West Holiday Tournament’s Top 50 Players of all-time list.

The list was selected from hundreds of on-line nominations from fans, former players, coaches, media members and friends of the tournament, according to a press release. A 16-person blue ribbon panel narrowed down the selections to 50 players. The selected players were grouped into each of the five decades of previous Proviso West Holiday Tournament competition.

Many of the 50 players will be recognized in a special ceremony between games of this year’s tournament semi-final round on Dec. 29.

Complete biographies on all members of the 50-Year All-Time All-Tournament Team can be found on the tournament website at:

Bresnahan went on to play for the Golden State Warriors. Maggette currently plays for the Milwaukee Bucks.

The Top 50 Players by decade are as follows:

1960’s – Jim Brewer, Proviso East; Rick Howat, Downers Grove North; Tom Kondla, Riverside-Brookfield; Bob Lackey, Evanston; Al Nuness, Proviso East; Marcus Washington, Lyons Township; Parker Wellington, Hinsdale Central.

1970’s – Mark Aguirre, Westinghouse;  Neil Bresnahan, Fenwick; Owen Brown, Lyons Township; Levi Cobb, Morgan Park; Steve McCuiston, Proviso West; Joe Ponsetto, Proviso East; Glenn Rivers, Proviso East; Isiah Thomas, Saint Joseph. 

1980’s – Randy Brown, Collins; Tracy Dildy, King; Tony Freeman, Saint Joseph; Hersey Hawkins, Westinghouse; Jeff Hornacek, Lyons Township; Michael Ingram, Proviso West; Marcus Liberty, King; Townsend Orr, Thornridge; Levertis Robinson, King; Alonzo Verge, Proviso West; Daryl Thomas, Saint Joseph; Efrem Winters, King.

1990’s – Cedrick Banks, Westinghouse; Donnie Boyce, Proviso East; Kenny Davis, Proviso East; Ronnie Fields, Farragut; Michael Finley, Proviso East; Sherrell Ford, Proviso East; Kevin Garnett, Farragut; Kiwane Garris, Westinghouse; Michael Hermon, Westinghouse/King; Ryan Hogan, Deerfield; Juwan Howard, Chicago Vocational; Matt Lottich, New Trier; Corey Maggette, Fenwick; Michael Wright, Farragut.

2000’s – Dee Brown, Proviso East; Shannon Brown, Proviso East; Kevin Dillard, Homewood-Flossmoor; Alex Dragicevich, Glenbrook North; Demetri McCamey, Saint Joseph; Jerel McNeal, Hillcrest; Elliott Poole, Farragut; Jon Scheyer, Glenbrook North; Evan Turner, Saint Joseph.

Email: Twitter: OakParkSports

Reader Comments

No Comments - Add Your Comment

Note: This page requires you to login with Facebook to comment.

Comment Policy

Facebook Connect

Answer Book 2017

To view the full print edition of the Wednesday Journal 2017 Answer Book, please click here.

Quick Links

Sign-up to get the latest news updates for Oak Park and River Forest.

MultimediaContact us
Submit Letter To The Editor
Place a Classified Ad

Classified Ad

Latest Comments